Skip to content

Chicago – Thursday, 1.27

02/11/2011

Greg and Kari cooked me up a good breakfast in the morning and we got to chat a little bit before I hit the road again around 11:30.  We had a bit of time to hang out after the show and before I hit the road, but Greg and I can talk for days and just begin to scratch the surface.  I really miss living close to him, we need to set aside some music making and listening time, a few days in a row would be good.   On the way out of town, I stopped at Deborah’s house to see her baby boy Franz, who is the smiliest little guy I’ve seen in a while.  Hit the highway about noon and made cruised through Wisconsin in time to get to my friend Dom’s house about seven.  This was the worst weather I traveled through, and it was just a few flurries, very glad the blizzards held off til the next week when I was safely in Texas.  I got to chat with Dom and his wife Summer and their little girl Charlotte, who was finishing off some tasty pasta shells.

After a quick stop at my friend Gerald’s apartment to drop off my stuff and pick him up, we headed over to Quenchers around eight and were greeted by my friends D.J. and Josh from Milwaukee!  That was 1000 times better sign than the previous night, and it carried through the whole show.  I was still a little nervous about the setup, but I had a better feel for it and had a little more time to relax and talk with friends before the show started.  Really great to see Spencer, who was to sick to stay out late, and to chat with Josh and D.J. about all kinds of stuff.  I started out with “Rodeo” by Les Savy Fav and it was already a lot rowdier than Minneapolis.  D.J. followed up with “Wrong” by Archers Of Loaf and we were off to a great show.  A whole lot less time to talk with people this time, but lots of memorable songs: Josh singing “Dreaming” by Yo La Tengo; TK421 doing Helium’s “Pat’s Trick”; my friend Beth kicking ass on “Deceptacon” by Le Tigre”; Gerald singing karaoke for the first time ever with his friend Becky on “Single Again” by Fiery Furnaces; four couples spontaneously breaking out into slow dances while “The Jon Sized Brigade” sang Neutral Milk Hotel’s “In The Aeroplane Over The Sea”; my friend Dominick totally owning “Warsaw” by Joy Division; a crew of girls singing “Parentheses” by The Blow; Steven giving “Totally Wired” by The Fall it’s first workout; Knox rocking “Alternative Ulster” by Stiff Little Fingers, and all the way to the end, which I think was “I Wanna Be Your Dog.”  The bar said more than 60 people were there for the show, not bad at all for a Thursday night.  So many people asked me to do it again that I think we definitely need to find a way.  Would love to go back to Quenchers, the only negative issue was that the sound on stage was a little rough.

Song of the day: Neutral Milk Hotel “In The Aeroplane Over The Sea”

For the slow dancers…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

