Skip to content

Poster Children “Persimmon”

04/10/2011

There’s not nearly enough Poster Children on the internet, so I give you “Persimmon”, the song that won me back to my favorite band. “Won me back” because I just didn’t get into their previous album that much and I was at that crossroads where a beloved band fades into a band that’s tied to your past but doesn’t have much meaning anymore. A good example of that for me is Nirvana, I was a full-on obsessive from the time I heard “Lithium” until Kurt died. I spent a day walking on the train tracks listening to my Best of Nirvana mixtape, and that was really the end of me loving that band. Suicide just seemed too foreign, it didn’t make sense to me and I didn’t know what to do with my feelings about the music anymore.

Anyway, Poster Children are the opposite of Nirvana in many ways, but I was starting to drift away from them when they released DDD in 2000. My favorite record of theirs up to that point had been Tool Of The Man, but it was from their self-described “sad period” and I never got to see most of those songs played live. And the live show is where I really connected to the band after falling for Tool Of The Man, their euphoric concerts are still head and shoulders above any rock band I’ve ever seen. After several great albums full of bright, ecstatic rock music, they finally captured the giddiness of their live show in an album written, recorded and produced in about a month between tours as their electronic side project Salaryman. I remember getting both Salaryman’s Karoshi and DDD at the same time on an international mail order when I lived in Japan, and deciding to listen to Poster Children first out of a kind of respect for the passion I’d felt for the band in the past, but didn’t expect to continue. I sat on my futon, increasingly excited by each new track’s energy and varied direction, and when “Persimmon” started up at track #7, I remember thinking “Holy shit, this is everything I love about this band!” The busy drums, the stop-start riff with a hypnotic rhythm guitar and the chanted insistent vocals with lyrics that sound great and suggest more (“doubled up with double vision”). Pure nervous energy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

