Skip to content

Nirvana “Lithium”

04/18/2011

I’ll be back on KOOP’s ReMIX radio show this Wednesday for round two of my Autobiographical Box Set, the high school years. It’s pretty impossible to overstate how tightly I wound this song – above all other Nirvana songs – into my identity for a couple years in high school: It was the reason I bought Nevermind in the first place, it was the first song I learned to play (on both guitar and bass), it was the song I sang walking home a few miles after breaking up with my girlfriend, and on and on. I recorded their MTV Video Music Awards performance and watched it over and over again, completely identifying with my idea of these misfits in a ridiculous world with ridiculous rules and somehow being rewarded for spitting in its face. I would, of course, never act out on any of these fantasies, but I sure projected a lot of my drama their way, and it meant the world at the time.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

